Matchless Avenger - clean issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matchless Avenger - clean issue

My matchless Avenger was custom made for me 2014. I got it plugged it in to my Matchless 410 cab. I have my master at 2 volume at 12 bass 11 mid at 10 treble at 11 bright at 9 reverb at 12. The breakup is way to strong—- fuzzy and flabby—// the amp power section 4 x el84 5 x 12ax7 —- using a gz34 rectifier —— it’s bassically the power section of the HC30 and preamp of the Chieftain. As you Matchless players know that the HC30 has an awesome robust LOUD clean sound. Can anyone tell me how I can clean my Avenger up? I’ve tried the high rating el84s as well as 5751 preamp Tubes and no dice. Anyone know what’s going on? I’m thinking sending it back to Phil at Matchless.

Sincerely,

Allen

Re: Matchless Avenger - clean issue

Pre-amp high, master volume low ? That's probably the problem right there. You need to run those 'backwards' ... pre-amp volume low-ish, master volume set high. If the master volume is switchable/ defeatable, try switching it out of circuit.
    Lumbering dinosaur (what's a master volume control?)

STALKER NO STALKING !

Comment

Also try at7/ay7 Preamp tubes.

Comment

Originally posted by Gtrjunior View Post
        Also try at7/ay7 Preamp tubes.

I’ll give that a try thanks!

Comment

I apologize lumbering dinosaur for asking but you own a Matchless Amplifier?

Volume at 12 and master at 2 are amazing settings on all my Matchless Amps.

I appreciate your help tho

Sincerely

Matchlessaz
          Last edited by Matchlessaz; 11-18-2017, 07:13 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Matchlessaz View Post

Volume at 12 and master at 2 are amazing settings on all my Matchless Amps.

I appreciate your help tho

Sincerely

Matchlessaz
            Which might be great for high gain but no good for cleans. You ought to try Crusty's suggestion and dial it the other way around.[ pretty easy to turn a few controls ]