Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cabinet wiring

Complete noob on this subject.

If I pull a 16ohm speaker out of a cabinet, can I just swap it out for an 8 ohm speaker? Or is it more complicated than that? Wiring, etc.

Example: Orange PPC112

Thank you

If it's a single 12 cab, then the only difference is the resistance that the amp will see will now be 8ohms. As long as the amp can handle the change, no problem. If it's a multiple speaker cab, the amount that the resistance changes will be different. Usually some oddball reading. Once again, as long as the amp can handle it.

Sent from my SM-A115A using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by BenPerkins View Post
      Complete noob on this subject.

If I pull a 16ohm speaker out of a cabinet, can I just swap it out for an 8 ohm speaker? Or is it more complicated than that? Wiring, etc.

Example: Orange PPC112

Thank you
      In a 1x12 cab, it's just that sample. In a cabinet with more speakers you'd need to replace more than one to avoid having a weird impedance. In a 2x12 for example, one 8-ohm and one 16-ohm speaker would yield a total impedance of 5.3 ohms.
      Originally posted by crusty philtrum
      And that's probably because most people with electric guitars seem more interested in their own performance rather than the effect on the listener ... in fact i don't think many people who own electric guitars even give a poop about the effect on a listener. Which is why many people play electric guitars but very very few of them are actually musicians.

Comment

Not to derail, but could you run that 1- 8ohm 1-16ohm cab safely through the 4ohm tap? Or would you be better off doing the 8ohm tap? My guess is the 4ohm.

Comment

Originally posted by Demanic View Post