Put New Tubes In My Marshall - WOW

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Put New Tubes In My Marshall - WOW

I have a DSL40C currently that has the bright mod done on it. I currently have a 65W Creamback speaker in it, and I have a 75W Creamback for it as well. A little backstory.

I bought the amp in 2016. I had a matched pair of what I thought were NOS Sylvania EL34’s. Turns out they are Siemens EL34’s made by RFT in Germany. Anyhow, when I bought the DSL I took it and the Siemens to my tech and he tried to install them, but said they were too hot for my DSL40C and he could not bias them in. So, I had to get a different set of tubes and ended up with Groove Tubes “R” variety in a 5 hardness. I’ve never liked the GT’s. They lacked balls, definition, crunch and detail. I compensated by hitting the front end with pedals and just lived with it because I don’t play live or with a group.

I finally decided to re-tube it this winter and ordered a pair of Tung Sol EL34B’s. I took it to a new place yesterday because my old guy moved out of town due to COVID. I took the Siemens on a whim, just to ask the new guy about them. One more opinion to really make sure they wouldn’t work and I was going to sell them.

Originally the guy said leave my amp and I could pick it up Monday evening. But when I told him my old tech said the Siemens were too hot for the amp, he said “that guy sounds like he is full of crap......let’s find out right now.” So he put the Siemens in, checked them with his meter, , tweaked the bias just a bit and we fired the amp up. HOLY HELL.

What a completely different amp I am playing now. Granted, it is not and will never be my old JCM 800, but this amp sounds better than it EVER has. Full and rich, crunchy and detailed, I can hear every note ring out even with the gain up damn high....and there is very little noise. The amp is so much quieter. Even the clean channel sounds better and more detailed. Richer, more highs and a bit glassier.