Guitar power amps and volume controls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guitar power amps and volume controls

I’ve been playing rack gear for many years and among other things, I use an effects processor and use its main output pot to control my overall volume level to my rack.
    I’ve always just cranked the power amp’s volumes to MAX and use the aforementioned effects processor to control the volume level. Is this an optimal way to run the power amp or does it not really make any difference?

That makes it easy to control and it works fine as long as the power amp is quiet, cranking the volumes on the power amp means that any noise in it will be at the max. If you have a hum coming through the speakers might try backing the power amp volumes off a little.

Comment

There are no hard set rules really. I always have found that there is a sweet spot and things sound best when they are in those areas. Depending on the gear being discussed the variances may change compared to other pieces of gear or situations. The best thing to do is reverse those settings and see if there is any difference. I am sure there will be. If indeed there are differences, it may be a fun hunt to mess around with various settings and see if you do indeed find something you like better. Take pics as you dial or chart the settings and why you like or dislike them as you go so you don't lose anything new. Good luck!
      The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side.

Comment

If it is a tube power amp, it will depend on if you want to get your sound from an overdriven preamp or power amp. If I am just using the power amp for raw power (not as an ingredient in the tone), then the power amp volume sets the master volume of the rig.
        Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment