Changing speaker ohms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing speaker ohms

I'm wanting to change the speaker in my Marshall mx112r 1x12 cab and it's currently got a 16 ohm seventy 80 in it and I'm want to put in a 8 ohm speaker in the cabinet. Is it as simple as replacing the speaker with a different one or is it more complicated than that to put in a speaker with a different ohm resistance? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I've never done this before. Thanks for any help on this matter.
    Last edited by Mikelamury; 10-30-2022, 02:40 PM.
    It's funny how some stories became historic,
    especially when the authors clearly wrote them to be metaphoric,
    But people will believe anything when it's written in stone or ancient scroll...-Fat Mike

You should replace the speaker with the same ohm reading. You can get away with using speakers with different ohms on solid state but not tube amplifiers.

Comment

Originally posted by idsnowdog View Post
      You should replace the speaker with the same ohm reading. You can get away with using speakers with different ohms on solid state but not tube amplifiers.
      Is it not possible to replace the speaker in the cabinet with a different ohm speaker? I can plug it into the correct ohm jack on the amp. To clarify I'm asking about changing the speaker in a cab not an amp. Thanks for the response.
      But people will believe anything when it's written in stone or ancient scroll...-Fat Mike

Comment

Originally posted by idsnowdog View Post
        MX112R is just a cabinet. He can replace with an 8ohm speaker as long as he matches it with the impedance selector (or matching output jack) on the amp.

Comment

Originally posted by misterwhizzy View Post

MX112R is just a cabinet. He can replace with an 8ohm speaker as long as he matches it with the impedance selector (or matching output jack) on the amp.