NAD: Quilter Interblock 45

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NAD: Quilter Interblock 45

I started playing just over a year ago with a buddy I've known in the arts scene for a while, and it was a good excuse to put my Line 6 Helix to the test in a gigging environment.

Rather than lug my Mark IV to use as a grossly overqualified poweramp, this palm-sized box puts out 44 watts into my 2x12 or 22 watts into a 4x12, still plenty loud for a rock band!

Testing it out as a real amp with pedals, I thought it was "ok", driving it hard it got gritty, and not to my taste.

The real gold for me though is plugging my Helix (and now Fractal FM9) into the FX loop return, where the Interblock is purely a cab volume control. It is transparent enough that I can get what I need and let the modeller do the heavy lifting!

Has anyone else tried these before? The only downside I see is the proprietary power supply but otherwise, it's excellent.

Sent from my SM-F926W using Tapatalk

• EBMM JPX BFR (Crunch Lab/Liquifire)
    • Schecter C-1 Classic (Custom8/Jazz)
    • Mayones Duvell 7 Standard (Instrumental SFTY-3/Decomp)
    • G&L Tribute Comanche
    • Godin Stadium 59 (Custom Cajun/'59)
    • Horizon Precision Drive --> Fulltone FB3/FD 2 --> Crybaby From Hell (Fasel) --> Boss BF-2 --> CH-1 --> TC Flashback X4
    • Mesa/Boogie Mark IV-B (SED =C= 6L6) + EarCandy BuzzBomb 2x12 (V30/C90)

I had the Quilter Interblock and superblock (Brit and UK) and tested them last month.

They sounded great in headphones, but at the end of the day none of them could really push a speaker like I prefer -especially closed back V30s.

So they are probably cool for jamming at home or using as a preamp and amp sim -not an amp itself.
    “For me, when everything goes wrong – that’s when adventure starts.” Yvonne Chouinard

Comment

Originally posted by NegativeEase View Post
      I had the Quilter Interblock and superblock (Brit and UK) and tested them last month.