banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Attenuator. Hotplate/ weber etc. Best one???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attenuator. Hotplate/ weber etc. Best one???

I am thinking of getting an attenuator 8 ohms but wonder whats the best one? I would possibly be using it at a friends as well and he has a Marshall jcm 800. I have a dual rectifier and wonder if I even need it? I have a master volume but like the sound of the amp better when the loop active master is disengaged on the back knob. Do I even need an attenuator?? Running out of tone improvements but recording a cd and want to be all geared up during guitar tracks.
    My bands links:

PEDL
    www.myspace.com/pedlmusic

TREBLE BLEED
    www.myspace.com/treblebleed

KLINK
    www.myspace.com/klinkdetroit

Re: Attenuator. Hotplate/ weber etc. Best one???

I have a THD Hotplate power attenuator, in Pink which is the 8ohm version. Hers the deal, I have a Boogie Simul-Setellite amp. Its 85 -100 watts all tube all clean. The hotp[late goes inbetween your speaker output wire and the actual speaker. When you turn your amp up real loud, like i'm talking bone rattling volumes, you get that sweat tube saturation. if you do it right and overdrive the power tubes you get that much sought after tube tone. however its so damn loud you can possible use it unless youre infront of a ****ing stadium of people. and even then you have htis thing called a PA. so this hotplate of mine allows me to run the amp at that setting, but at a lower volume. so i get the same great tone, but less volume. It works very well and even allows you to further tweak the sound. I saw a posting a long time ago comparing the THD hotplate to a powerbreak attenuator and the original signal, depending on the amp and setttings it changes the sound, so its not com[pletly transparent. to compensate for this the hotplate has a deep bass switch as well as a bright switch, which i find very useful. I recomend the THD hotplate.