Mixing sets of strings?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixing sets of strings?

The recent polls about strings raise a question.

I've been using roundwound GHS Bass Boomer Heavy for many years. The gauges are 50/70/95/115. I use them because I really REALLY REALLY prefer the heaviest E and A I can get my hands on.

I was going through a box of music-related stuff and found an old set of D'Addario XL Heavy. The gauges on those are 55/75/90/110.

Is there any reason I can't mix these so that I get 55/75/95/115? I have always preferred heavy strings (was never a guitar player).

Note/Disclaimer/Admission of Guilt: I do not do my own setups: I pay a tech to do that periodically.

Would a set up need to be done if I mixed the strings?

I'm concerned about doing anything funky that could screw up the neck on my main player, my '76 P.

dg
    '69 Fender Mustang bass
    '69 Gibson EB-1
    '76 Rickenbacker 4001 w/SD for Rick N & B
    '76 Fender Precision w/Dimarzio Model P
    '84 MIJ Fender Jazz Bass Special w/SD Hot for P neck & Dimarzio Model J for bridge [BEAD tuning]
    '99 Fretless MIJ Fender Precision/'87 MIJ Fender Squier Jazz hybrid w/SD QP for Jazz
    '12 MIM Fender Jazz w/Dimarzio Model J
    '14 Fretless Warmoth Custom T w/ SDCS Stack for SCPB N & B

Re: Mixing sets of strings?

It won't be harmful to try it out. With mixing strings, you may notice differences in feel and sound, but nothing will be damaged. If you notice any change in playability or intonation, you may need to return to the tech, but the adjustments would be small.
    Turn me on, Dead Man.

Comment

Thanks, Baritone. I'm sure I must've done this at times over the years, but in those days I'm sure I had intonation issues at times.
      '69 Fender Mustang bass
      '69 Gibson EB-1
      '84 MIJ Fender Jazz Bass Special w/SD Hot for P neck & Dimarzio Model J for bridge [BEAD tuning]