Skunk stripe separation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Skunk stripe separation

I just noticed something disturbing when I picked up my bass today: the end of the skunk stripe closest to the headstock is raised up. The offset is pretty miniscule, just a couple of hairs distance, but definitely noticeable when touched. In fact, I felt it when I started playing and thought maybe it was finger gunk or something until I looked at it and saw it was the end of the stripe. I don't see any separation or space between the stripe and the rest of the adjoining area.

Anyone know if this is something to worry about? Or should I just sand it down and forget about it? Thanks for any ideas!

Re: Skunk stripe separation

I'd just leave well enough alone. You'll get used to it, and it won't hurt your playing one bit.
    Originally posted by LesStrat
    Yogi Berra was correct.
    Originally posted by JOLLY
    I do a few chord things, some crappy lead stuff, and then some rhythm stuff.

Comment

Has this been happening over time, or was it like that when you got the bass?
      sigpic
      "Add about a half-a-teacup o' bass...."
      --'King' Curtis Ousley

Visit me on Facebook
      Originally posted by Lewguitar
      In our heart of hearts we're love. That's who we really are.

Comment

Just noticed it over the last few days. The neck is a replacement neck I bought new back in 1997. :

Comment

BTW, that's a great name for a band. Get Pepe LePew as a logo, and get signed to Warner Bros.
          sigpic
          "Add about a half-a-teacup o' bass...."
          --'King' Curtis Ousley

Visit me on Facebook
          Originally posted by Lewguitar
          In our heart of hearts we're love. That's who we really are.

Comment

Is there any finish on the neck? Skunk stripe usually means a maple neck, and maple necks are usually finished. My opinion of what to do might depend on if the finished is cracked or jagged at the end of the skunk strip.