banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Would a head with 6L6 or 5881 power tubes be easily rebiased for EL34's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would a head with 6L6 or 5881 power tubes be easily rebiased for EL34's?

I know pretty much that it would be a pain and a silly idea to try and put EL34's into my savage 120, but i dont wanna touch that anyway. Just hypethetically speaking, with some of the other ENGL heads which sport 5881 and 6L6 power tubes (four of them), would they be easily changed to EL34's?
    My Soundclick page.

I am no expert in this but there is something called "Yellow Jacket Tube Converters" that THD make. Apparently they can convert any power tube to EL34s and don't need re-biaising. See the link below:

THD Electronics is a company specializing in products for the music industry, specifically tube amplification and products catering to tube amps.

Norman
    Normans Guitars

Comment

My Marshall JCM 800 came with 6550's originally. I had it converted to EL34's for less then $90 - including power tubes. You have to change some caps or resistors or something I don't really understand, but it is a very simple process that is easily reversed.

I almost got rid of my 800 because I disliked the 6550's in it so much. Now it's so much better. That Engl was such an investment, it might be worth it to spend $100 to have it converted to see if you like it better. It can always be put back to stock.
      My Sound Clips

Comment

Originally posted by Norman_T
        I am no expert in this but there is something called "Yellow Jacket Tube Converters" that THD make. Apparently they can convert any power tube to EL34s and don't need re-biaising. See the link below:

THD Electronics is a company specializing in products for the music industry, specifically tube amplification and products catering to tube amps.

Norman
        to EL 84 i think
        RG 550 [JB | SingleSizedHole(TM) | V1 (to be replaced)]