banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tone Difference between Silicon & Germanium Diodes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tone Difference between Silicon & Germanium Diodes?

I'm no expert on pedals....OD, Dist, Fuzz to be exact, but can anyone shed some light on the tonal differences of silicon and germanium diodes in an OD circuit? And, what effect on tone would there be if you were to swap one for the other in a OD/Fuzz pedal?
    Originally posted by Boogie Bill
    I've got 60 guitars...but 49 trumpets is just...INSANITY! WTF!

Re: Tone Difference between Silicon & Germanium Diodes?

Its the voltage turn-on point. A diode, in a fuzz circuit, serves the same basic function as a capacitor in a guitars tone circuit. It just takes a certain amount of the voltage, and redirects it to ground. Whereas a capacitor/potentiometer combo vary this amount, with a diode, its predetermined. Thats where the difference comes in. Modern diodes have a turn-on voltage around 650 - 750 millivolts, the older germaniums turned on at around 350 millivolts.

That, of course, meant that they came into play at a much lower volume.
    Thats the difference.

Edit: Ooops . . . left out part of my explanation. While a cap redirects some degree of the high-frequency's to ground, a diode sends the top of the waveform, or amplitude, to ground, causing controlled clipping. (Like an overdriven tube, or transistor.)
    Last edited by ArtieToo; 07-20-2004, 03:43 PM.

Comment

Just read an article about this recently, the Germanium transistors will have a shorter life span due to "leaking" (electrons flowing in both directions=bad), this would lead to tone deterioration.

Silicon transistors are supposed to be more robust and capable of handling the rough physical and electronic conditions associated with guitar playing.
      I guess that explains the difference in tone between pedals with Germanium.

Comment