The Dangers of Amplifier Power

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Dangers of Amplifier Power

I've been a technician for 20 years and I want to emphasize the danger of working on instrument amplifiers.

Amps have lethal voltages and current running through them. Without basic safety precautions your next mod could be your last one. Please use these basic precautions WHENEVER you are working on your amp.

ALWAYS UNPLUG your amp! No one can accidentally turn it on if it's unplugged.

1. As a general rule you NEVER want to put both of your hands near a circuit board. This could complete a circuit across your chest and kill you. Electricity is always going to take the path of least resistance to ground. "A hand in the pocket" is a habit you should get into.

2. Don't wear metal rings, bracelets or anything else which can conduct electricity while working near circuits.