SG- how's it Hangin'?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SG- how's it Hangin'?

I'm pretty new to the SG. Couldn't get a grip on it 2night. i WEAR MOST OF MY GUITARS CHESYT HIGH, BUT WITH THE SG( sorry caps)it did not feel right for me.
    I see Angus, the foremost SG guy in existence, wears it low on the hip, kinda slung side saddle and level for rythem, then raises it at an angle, still off the hip for his blistering leads.;

Wondering how some of the great famous SG players, or you even, sling the SG.
    Last edited by MetalManiac; 05-28-2016, 09:12 PM.
    "Anyone who understands Jazz knows that you can't understand it. It's too complicated. That's what's so simple about it." - Yogi Berra

Re: Ya need a good strap to hang a SG.

Other great SG players - Tony Iommi - Black Sabbath, Bobby Kreiger - Doors, Glenn Buxton - Alice Cooper Band..........

Think of the SG as a 1958 MG. It isn't anything fancy and can handle the straightaways and the curves with speed and class. I prefer them just above waist height and shift for lead stuff.

Have four SG's and a long time player.

When I first started SG's they were freaking awkward compared to my other guitars due to the position of the neck joint and strap button. Lets seriously appreciate the ability play the higher frets easily and hence the shifting.

Have tried a SG or two that had the strap buttons relocated. Seems I was too comfortable with my SG's so these felt weird to me.

Best advice I can give you is to use straplocks - your choice and a wide strap that grips.

Had a couple of hand made straps made for me in the early 70's by a street vendor in Virginia Beach and am still using them. They measure 3 inches wide and rough side down. And after all these years, they still grip like the day I bought them. Seriously, I have never had a problem with SG neck dive due to the great straps. rough side down still grips like new.

Take care of leather and your SG - they will last for years and years.