banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need luthier guidance on selecting best 3 parts of ash to glue together for telecast

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need luthier guidance on selecting best 3 parts of ash to glue together for telecast

Hello luthiers out there?

I am a hobby builder who has gained some donated ash from a local ranger.

The trouble is the tree stumps are short and not very wide.

So the slabs I grt will make a 4 piece telecaster at best maybe 2 piece on the bigger logs. I have quarter sawn two pieces of ash but am looking for guidance and recommendations on how to marry the wood up for glueing n clamping together.

I will post pics as I move through each log or tree stump.

Many thanks guys please give a heads up if you are there to help. As I want to make a telecaster for my first guitar. I have a ash neck that i made into a board tbat may make 2 necks. I nees a band saw tomcut it in half though.. although i may bow saw it down the middle as my sawing technique is improving..

Thanks guys I will post pics when you post to me.. the wood is at like 14 percent moisture and needs slabbing into boards and sloe seasoning for a long time yet. Although once it gets to 10% to 12% i am going to pull the trigger and make the first guitar and let the rest season.

Thanks people. Your help is much appreciated. When the guitars dobe I will demo it and make a yputube showing all its faults and explaining to others how to avoid it. To help other beginners.

Cheers

Oh by the way there is checking as i stupidly did not cut the green wopd stumps into boards immediately..

Although some boards with checking running right through it I m going to get hide glue and lightly glue and clamp them together to not waste anywood and learn just how badly theose extra breaks effect tone. So I should end up with a 2 piece and few 4 piece telecaster bodies.

Thanks again