Nut question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nut question

After buying my latest guitar I've jusr realized that I have no hands-on experience with non locking/nonFloyd type nuts. In some mysterious ways the factory strings are still on the guitar despite it being second hand (I know this because they feel lighter than the 10s I use on my other guitars and they are all flakes where I pick which rhymes perfectly with the 9-42 Elixir strings specified by the ESP product page).

The nut seems to be percetly cut for the current setup, so my question is: should I expect any problems/nutwork when going up a gauge or the difference will insignificant?

Click image for larger version

Name:	nut.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	5853805

Re: Nut question

9-42 for a 7-string? 9-54 sounds more appropriate anyways the only way would be to fit those 10s in there and give it a try. If you feel the 10s tend to stick in their slots, give it some runs with 11s, this will work the holes a little bit, and then go back to 10s.

Comment

Yeah that's what I meant. Im drunk, sorry. Goins from 9s to 10s, thats less confsusing

Comment

I needed a new setup going from 10s to 11s with a wound third. No way to tell unless you try though.
        Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
        This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

i wouldnt think youd need to do anything to the nut but id assume a setup will be needed with the extra tension

Comment

Originally posted by nexion218 View Post