banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

STRAT PLAYERS:Which pup do you use and do you lower your treble and mids on amp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• STRAT PLAYERS:Which pup do you use and do you lower your treble and mids on amp?

I'm new with single coils and I took it for granted that most play in the 4th or 5th notch on a 5-way switch. But I just read an interview with Robin Trower where he said he mostly uses the neck pickup.

Which do you use most and does anyone know which pups are mainly used by Randy Bachman, Ritchie Blackmore and David Gilmour?
    Seymour Duncans I've owned: Dimebucker, '59n, '59b, PG+n, JB, Phat Cat, PGn, Custom, Seth Lover, '78.

Re: STRAT PLAYERS:Which pup do you use and do you lower your treble and mids on amp?

I generally use the neck pickup, but I shy away from 'classic' sounds- I am more likely to boost the mid and bass on an amp. Blackmore switches his pickups like every 3 seconds- check out some video of him...he never stays on 1 position for more than a few seconds.
    Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Re: STRAT PLAYERS:Which pup do you use and do you lower your treble and mids on amp?

I mainly use the neck pickup for rhythm and smoother lead tones, and the bridge pickup for snarlier lead tones and sharper rhythm tones. Playing rhythm I'll stick with one position but for lead I've developed a habit of switching back and forth between the neck and bridge pickup depending on what register of the neck I'm in. I generally never use the mid pickup by itself and only use notch positions 2 and 4 for a "different" clean tone.

On an amp I'll generally keep the bass on 6 or 7, the treble on 7 or 8, and the mids very depending on how the amp is voiced but no on my boogie they're on 5 or 6. I tend to go for a "Fat Strat" tone.

Oh yeah, SCS... your avatar rocks!

Comment

I use 'em all. mostly the two notch positions though. I usually "boost" my mids and treble.