Has anyone ever used these?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Has anyone ever used these?

Nope. Seems like a bad idea that causes more problems than it solves.
    Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
    This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Why do you say that?
      I don't really think there's any problem with good pins but this seemed kind of cool and I was wondering what it would do for the sound.

Comment

I have no experience with them, but they kinda look like they would raise the fulcrum point of the force exerted on the bridge by the strings? which could possibly cause problems down the line.

The anchor on the bottom would probably mitigate that, But I'm not sure
        "If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough" -Mario Andretti

"Cuz we both know I'm just a lost cause, a wannabe poet with a cheap guitar, begging for applause"

Comment

Yes and it would also raise the action right?

Comment

Read the reviews and noted there many favorable comments.
            That is not dead which can eternal lie,
            And with strange aeons even death may die.

Comment

I looked into them, but ultimately went with TUSQ pins. I couldn't find any definitive evidence that they significantly improved the sound, and read several reviews which said that strings could and would pop out.
              That being said, I welcome any improvement here. The acoustic bridge is sadly still (mostly) relying on bridge pins. My Adamas uses a pinless bridge, which really should be the standard these days.
              Administrator of the SDUGF