ESP vs. Gibson vs. Yamaha

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESP vs. Gibson vs. Yamaha

I went to Chuck Levin's World of Music today to check out some guitars that I could use my graduation money on. Of the selection that they had, I was most impressed by the new ESP LTD's (Viper-1000, EC-1000, GL-Tiger, M-302) and the new Yamaha AES line (720, 620, and the Frank Gambale model). With all these good guitars in the $500-800 price range, it seriously got me thinking about buying one instead of the SG Standard I've been GASing for.

Of the guitars I liked, I was most pleased by the EC-1000, Viper-1000, and AES720. They all played as well if not better than all of the Gibsons I tried out today. They also came with pretty good stock pickups (EMG's, Duncans, or DiMarzios) and were well within my price range.

I've been GASing for an SG Standard for a couple months now and have been planning on buying one. However, a brand new SG costs a little over $1000. Gibsons have better resale value compared to the Korean ESP's and Yamahas I tried.

So, with all this in mind, tell me what to do. Should I cave in and get a cheaper ESP/Yamaha, or stick with the SG?
    Gibson SG Standard (498T/498R)
    Schecter C-1 Elite (Custom/59)
    Fender Deluxe Double Fat Strat (Carvin SD22/M22N)
    Yamaha FG-413S acoustic
    Marshall G15CDR
    Marshall JCM 2000 DSL100
    Marshall 1960A
    Boss ME-50
    ...and just a little talent.

Re: ESP vs. Gibson vs. Yamaha

Well, I'd go for the one guitar in that store that pleased you the most soundwise, lookswise, whatever... If resale value is an issue, go for the Gibson... If you look at my avatar you'll notice which way I went but I won't try to preach for any of these brands... If you want a great player, just play all the ones you can and pick the one that satisfies you the most, regardless of the price tag (as much as possible) or the name on the headstock. If you plan on selling it, get the SG...

Comment