banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can I remove the pots from the pickguard?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I remove the pots from the pickguard?

I'm shielding a Strat circuit,with aluminum foil. How can I remove the pots (they have some kind of "mounting nuts" on the topside of the pickuard). I tried to pull them away, but I just canīt remove them. I know it's a silly question, but sorry, I have no experience with guitar electronics.
    Itīs so sweet...

Re: How can I remove the pots from the pickguard?

ur gonna wanna pull the knobs off the pots, and u may want to unsolder the pots, but that makes it easier, it is in no way neccessary. as u said, there are washer nuts on one or both sides of the gaurd holding the pot in place.

all u ahve to do is loosen the mounting nut untill it comes off, than the pot will slide right off. this is at least how mine work. i use pliers

maybe im not understanding your question?
    Godin SDXT - 59-ClassicStack-JB
    Martin D-15 - Fishman Neo-D
    Boss BD-2 - MXR dynacomp - Dunlop Crybaby GCB-95 - Morley A/B/Y
    Crate VC-3112
    Brownsville NY J-Bass Copy
    Fender Bassman 60

Comment

Originally posted by VaiHalen
      I'm shielding a Strat circuit,with aluminum foil. How can I remove the pots (they have some kind of "mounting nuts" on the topside of the pickuard). I tried to pull them away, but I just canīt remove them. I know it's a silly question, but sorry, I have no experience with guitar electronics.
      Hopefully you have the pickguard off the body completely...After that you need to pull up on the knobs and usually a 1/2" wrench will remove the pot mounting nuts...Once the nuts are off(This doesn't sound right) just pull the pots down and away from the pickguard being careful not to pull any wires off the pots...

John