Overdrive Overload

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overdrive Overload

Since I haven't used pedals lately and haven't owned an overdrive or distortion in almost a couple years, I thought I'd do a little research, both old and the new.

I gotta say, there's so many options out there now that it makes it rather difficult to pick just one out. It almost makes my head spin. I remember when I started playing and there was but a handful from Boss, MXR, ProCo and DOD, along with a few other oddities.

Anybody else feel overloaded when checking out pedals of a certain type? Doesn't have to be just overdrives and distortions.

Re: Overdrive Overload

I hear ya. I love options, but I totally eye glaze over when I see yet another marshall in a box, tube screamer ripoff or any number of booteek drive pedals with goofy paint jobs. Its ridiculous.
    I'm an internet person. All we do is waste time evaluating things that have next-to-zero real world significance.

Remember, it's just a plank of wood. YOU have to find the music in it - The Telecaster Handbook

Comment

Well, TimmyPage does...

I get wrapped up in it from time to time, but then I remember there only like 10 gain circuits, so most are variations on a theme (TS-808, DS-1, Fuzz Face, Big Muff, Tone Bender, Bluesbreaker, FET based mu-amp etc.) if I have a pedal I like (like a Fulldrive, TS derivative) another TS based pedal isn't going to get me much different. I probably need to explore my playing technique and amp/pedal settings.
      Last edited by PFDarkside; 11-11-2014, 08:33 PM.
      Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

Well as far as pedals go OD/distortion pedals are by far the most numerous, but if you asked me why I couldn't tell you.