banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NPD: Joyo Dyna Compressor (that sort of compresses)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NPD: Joyo Dyna Compressor (that sort of compresses)

I've been looking for something to give me a solo boost for the dirty channel of my ss Randall amp. I've been using an EQ pedal since the 1990s, bumping the midrange frequencies and the overall volume. It makes the signal fuller, with more compression and sustain. That's all I want. But after reading through this forum for a few weeks I thought maybe I could do better.
    So I went to my local music store to try out some pedals, specifically an overdrive or two, a clean boost or two, and a compressor or two. Overdrives did not do it for me AT ALL. Every one I tried just thinned out the signal and/or made it harsh to my ears. I want smooth and creamy sustain, not an ice pick. A couple of them actually lowered the apparent volume of my amp, probably because they cut lows and/or low mids.
    So then I tried five or six different clean boosts. The mini Spark came closest to what I was looking for, but it really just sounds a lot like my EQ pedal the way I have it set so I saw no reason to switch. (But if anyone wants a nice warm clean boost that doesn't make the bottom into total mush, I highly recommend that little sucker!)
    However, the shop did not have a single compressor in stock! Not one. The guy was visibly surprised when I asked to try a couple out.

So...I lurked around eBay for a while until I found a lightly used Joyo "Dyna Compressor" for $21 shipped. (The bright green one with a white scorpion stenciled on the top for no logical reason.) I chose it because it has separate sustain and attack controls, easy battery access, and it's cheap. I was hoping for a good volume boost along with a bit more sustain AND to knock down the "pweek pweek" sound I get from picking notes really hard with a lot of gain.