X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 9-18 volt center negative

I just got a friedman smallbox pedal.

Instruction card reads "9-18 volt center negative"

Does that mean it is safe to use with my typical 9v powersupply?

Please let me know. Thank you. And, yes, i'm paraoid. Fried a pedal years ago. Lesson learned: better to be safe
    Last edited by Open lane; 07-28-2021, 10:43 AM.

thats what it says

EHD
    Just here surfing Guitar Pron
    RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
    SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
    Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
    Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
    Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
    Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
    GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

Comment

Yes, it's fine with a normal boss type power supply but you can also connect it to a 12 or 18 volt supply (which will usually give the circuit more headroom).
      Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
      This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Ah ok. Thank you guys. Just wasn't sure if it meant 9 through 18 or if 9-18 was a separate thing. Got it!

THANK YOU.

Comment

Ehdwuld, i see that on the site, now that you pointed out. Instruction card did not. Thank you for helping.

Comment

Just about all power supplies have a diagram showing if it is center negative or center positive.

Comment

I took a center positive to Canada for my quarantine rig It wanted a center negative
              and no batteries