No announcement yet.

Any body use a Mini in a strat bridge?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any body use a Mini in a strat bridge?

I have a MIM Strat with a SM-1 Firebird style mini humbucker in the neck position. I got the idea from Brent Mason who uses a Mini in the neck of his famous primer gray Tele. It sounds amazing. I've been using it in this configuration, for about 5 years. Recently I've felt I needed a little more oomph from the bridge pickup, and I thought it would look cool to put another Mini in the bridge position. I still want keep the quacky #2 position. Any thoughts or experiences would be appreciated.
    "shut up and play yer guitar" FRANK ZAPPA

Re: Any body use a Mini in a strat bridge?

Hey man, welcome to the board!

My dad bought a Strat one time, when he gopt it it had 2 SSL-1's in the neck and middle and a duncan Minibucker in the bridge...he soon changed it to 3 SSL-1's...only because he is a Single coil man...over a dozen guitars and only 1 with buckers! Before he made the swap I asked to borrow the guitar for a little while...At the time I had no single coil guitars and wanted to give it a try...this guitar was amazing...I did one session with it, I'll try to find a tune or two and maybe post them or send them to you. It really was a killer guitar. I know that the spacing will be colse on the neck...and not a close on the bridge...just as one more idea you should check in to single coil sized buckers...JB Jr, Lil 59, etc...Although I must say that Strat did sound killer!

The guy who invented fire
    If you just read a post by The Guy Who Invented Fire please understand that opinions change, mind sets change and as players our ears mature...not to mention our needs grow and change. With that in mind, today I may or may not agree with the post you just read!

Comment

Hey Man Who Invented Fire, thanks for the info. Do you know if that strat your dad had, had a maple or rosewood fretboard?

Comment