Wiring possibility...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring possibility...

I'm hoping to get new pups for my birthday in April and want to learn how to install them. Since I have no experience in changing pickups will I be able to do it?

Also I have a question about the wiring. I recently read that nowaday the only overdrive Clapton gets is from the 25db boost in his signature strat. This sounded pretty cool so I was wondering if I could wire it w/ 1 volume, 1 tone (that controls both singles), and have the last tone be controller for that boost. Is that possible/how would I do it.
    :banana: :banana: :dance: :banana: :banana:

Re: Wiring possibility...

Yup . . . you can do it. But, like anything else, it takes patience and practice. And having the right tools. You need a "decent" soldering iron. A 40-45 watt Weller would be good, but there are others. Good solder, an iron holder, (if it doesn't come with one), soldering paste, (a good idea for beginners), small wire cutters, small needle-nose pliers. A good work space.

And most of all . . . practice. See if you can get one of those small "kits" that Velleman and others make. Do a Google search for "hobby electronic kits". You'll see many. Or tear apart an old stereo or something. The practice part is important.

As for the booster, you can do it, but the wiring starts to get a little more complicated. You can buy the SD Booster Pedal from Guitar Electronics in circuit board form, ready to install into a guitar, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it as a first project.

Check back here . . . ask questions. We'll help.

Artie
    Last edited by ArtieToo; 01-14-2005, 12:23 PM. Reason: spelling

Comment

The Clapton booster kits are getting harder to find since Fender has stopped making them. You can usually get them on Ebay though. I have a schematic and wiring diagram to build your own, but that's going to be over your head as a first project.