Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bridge pickup for Mahogany Strat...

Hey guys,
    Im trying to figure out what to put in a mahogany strat with a non-recessed Floyd Rose and rosewood fingerboard. I not sure whether to go with a Screamin Demon, JB, or C5 for the bridge sopt. Im trying to get a aggressive, but versatile sound that can really sing. This seems to point toward the JB, but the JB has a real specific sound that we've all heard a thousand times as great as it is. My other concern is whether it will be to thick, yes thats right, to thick, I have very little experience with the JB i do know that it have that distinct, thick mid-range that i think might be not quite right. Im looking for a sound that is punchy and fat, still have openness and dynamic spank, but has great singing highs that are smooth but not to smooth, but not harsh or completely lacking in mids either. Im not trying to get the guitar to sound like a Les Paul or something like that, i like this guitar for what it is and want to keep the sound from getting to far away from that. I play a lot of different music, all kinds of hard rock and metal, classic rock from old Beatles and Stones stuff, Aerosmith style hard blues rock, and all kinds of other stuff. I admit i am a whore for EVH and George Lynch and play a lot of there stuff too. What would you suggest for the sound i want? How would these different pickups sound?
    Last edited by Maximusgordon 2.0; 01-27-2005, 06:16 PM.
    EBMM H-S-H Silhouette

Gibson Les Paul Studio

Fender MIM Stratocaster

Bogner Goldfinger 45 1x12 Combo

Re: Bridge pickup for Mahogany Strat...

That's...a lot of sounds from one pickup.

The JB might be a bit too high-output-ish for some classic Beatles stuff. The C5 is a pretty neutral pickup in the mids, and can sound scooped unless you have a good "middy" amp or EQ setting.

I don't have much experience with the Screamin' Demon, but it sounds like it'd fit your bill pretty well.