upgraded pickups really neccessary?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• upgraded pickups really neccessary?

greetings, I've been a long time reader of these forums, but this is my first attempt at a post. I currently own an ibanez RG 220 (not great but it gets the job done). I currently have the stock pickups still in there. Everyone tells me that I need to upgrade them to some SD's or something, but I'm a little skeptical. Is it really that dramatic of an improvement to be worth the $150.00+ i'd have to shell out to buy them and get them installed? I mean I've played guitars w/ seymour duncans and the like and I wasn't blown away or anything. All I'm asking is it really worth the investment?

Re: upgraded pickups really neccessary?

Welcome to the forum!

If you like the way your stock pickups sound then you might want to leave them alone. However if you feel that you're not getting the sound you want, aftermarket pickups like Duncan's, Dimarzio's, and such are out there, and there's plenty to chose from. If you're looking to upgrade your pickups and don't know what to look for, ask around here for help. You'll find that everyone here is very helpful.
    -Tom

Epiphone G400 w/Duncan Custom
    Vox VT15
    Washburn D10SCE
    Getsch Electromatic Junior Jet Bass

Comment

Originally posted by StratTom
      Welcome to the forum!

If you like the way your stock pickups sound then you might want to leave them alone. However if you feel that you're not getting the sound you want, aftermarket pickups like Duncan's, Dimarzio's, and such are out there, and there's plenty to chose from. .....