Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Duncan SH-6 Magnet swap?

I am pretty new to magnet swapping.
    I bought a guitar and it came with an SH6 (as well as the original pickup)
    So the SH6 is ceramic, if I replaced it with an alnico magnet how much would it change?
    I am not a big ceramic magnet guy, I am much more into the low output PAF style, but I thought it may be fun to put a different magnet in there to see if it would make a difference
    "...Strange brew -- kill what's inside of you..."

Re: Duncan SH-6 Magnet swap?

All manner of magnets can alter the tone and feel of the Duncan Distortion, but none will make it sound like a PAF.

I recommend an A2 in order to experience the largest change into something that is still very usable.

Stick an A5 in it and you essentially have a JB. A single-thick ceramic and you essentially have a Dokkenbucker.

An A8 is one metal guys like to put in it.

The A2 turns it into an RTM (Warren DeMartini's pickup), more or less.

There's casual talk that the Distortion, JB and Invader are all the same wind. Some of this talk as well as talk running counter is often made authoritatively, but it's still just talk. So far the best I have seen doesn't rise above innuendo.

If there are differences, they are only going to be subtle, perhaps no less subtle than variation one might encounter due to tolerances in materials and manufacturing. So, you can choose to spend tens or hundreds of dollars, deliver the pickups in a black box to people who swear up and down that they know and watch them do no better than guess as to which is which.

Comment

Good description.
      Would an A2 make it less ummm "aggressive"?

Comment

Yes, but how much less is a subjective matter. You won't really know until you try.

It's too bad you aren't doing this with an SH-5/SH-11/SH-14, but the experience can still be rewarding with an SH-6.