• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 59 vs Alnico II vs ?

PHP Code:
    [PHP
    [/PHP]

Hi. I have some experience with Duncan pickups as well as some more boutique stuff. I'm trying to figure out what to do with a guitar I bought. It's one of the Elitist Epiphone Les Pauls from about 20 years ago. A great value, especially with Gibson's issues at the time. I actually rather like the pickups it shipped with but these had been replaced. I play clean a fair amount, some moderate OD and occasionally higher distortion. I've had Seth Lovers in a couple of guitars I bought and am not a huge fan although I know many are. They seemed to be kind of wiry. Had Anitquities in one that were good but I seem to prefer potted.

The 59 neck seems to have a reputation for being both bright and "woofie". I had one in a Heritage 575 archtop in the neck and I really liked it. Neck on it was always clean and I'm usually clean on the neck. I was thinking perhaps of a 59 in the neck and the Alnico II in the bridge to give me a little more push. I hate bright bridge pickups but want to hear the harmonics. Hope that makes sense. I'm pretty visually impaired these days so I'm hoping to get something I'm happy with the first time. Thanks

Re: 59 vs Alnico II vs ?

Well some people find there pearly gates bright as a bridge pickup even though it’s A2. So it seems like if you want an A2 you’ve got the A2 pro and the antiquity left as choices for Duncan PAFs.

Comment

Slash bridge, Peary Gates neck (or possibly Jazz neck).
      or Whole Lotta Humbucker bridge, 59 neck (if you're really set on 59 neck)

Choose by the sound, not the magnets.
      Last edited by beaubrummels; 07-15-2020, 08:24 PM.

Comment