banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Time for a change Any suggestions for my les Paul’s ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time for a change Any suggestions for my les Paul’s ?

So I got a les paul classic gold top I wanna keep in e standard and play rock and classic rock on and I got a les Paul custom zakk wylde (refinished) that has no pickups ... it gonna tune it to Eb to play 90s rock and some metal ... I thought maybe a 59 set for the classic .... JB for the bridge of the custom not sure on a neck pickup yet ... I also toyed with the idea of an emg 57 for the bridge .... I’m kind of new to pickups and I’m not 100% what to get

i think the 59 set is a great place to start for the gold top. a jazz/jb set for the custom would be a fine choice for rock and metal. a custom is another kick ass bridge pup in a les paul

Comment

Gorgeous guitar, dang. My suggestion is to send it to me for extensive testing

One of them should get at least a P90 sized humbucker in the neck. AT LEAST. If you've got two LPs, this is a great way to expand your tonal palette and allow different playing styles to shine. One guitar with P90s and one with overwound PAFs would rock. Or PAF bridge + P90 neck for one and slamming high output pickups for the other.
      Originally posted by crusty philtrum
      Anyone who *sings* at me through their teeth deserves to have a bus drive through their face
      http://www.youtube.com/alexiansounds

Comment

A few options come to mind
        Pearly Gates set (bright top end, thick everything else)
        Slash set (thick, some chime)
        Whole Lotta Humbucker set (like an improved 59 set, softened top end, sounds like a 'produced' rock guitar)
        Custom / Jazz (has some heat, some top end to work with, work the volume and tone, can do anything rock/classic rock)

Comment