Pickup Swapping...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pickup Swapping...

Am I the only one who hates actually swapping pickups yet at the same time seems to always be changing pickups?
    The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side.

I used to really love it, but anymore, I'm less enthusiastic. I've been playing for almost 20 years longer than when I started getting into pickups, and my gear as a whole is a lot nicer. It's not that I dislike taking a guitar apart and soldering in new stuff, it's more like it seems futile, and it's gonna sound like me regardless of what I swap in or out.
    “I can play the hell out of a riff. The rest of it’s all bulls**t anyway,” Gary Holt

Comment

While I agree with you I also disagree a tiny bit. True we sound like we sound but there are some things to help us along a bit. I have about 15 sets left to install and I think I will just try and knock as many out at once as I can so I can be done with it. What will really spin me out is if these don't work like I expect them to. I am very confident I am putting the right pickups in the right guitar for what I want but there is always a chance it won't work out like hoped. I would be elated if that didn't happen and I can retire from from doing this for a while...lol. I love doing set ups and such but wiring and soldering, not a fan anymore.
      The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side.

Comment