New JB Modding Experiment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New JB Modding Experiment

I am new to SD Forum, but after reading up a bit on existing posts, I had not seen a recent JB mod. For my iteration, I tried a couple specific changes to hopefully bring a certain set of results:
    • Swapping an Alnico 5 for an Alnico 8. Something about my playing style does not mesh with an A5. Probably because they have a certain aggressive EQ with a relatively high output.
    • Pulled out the metal spacer under the screws bobbin. I tried to search a bit on what 'airing' specifically requires one to do, and I think it is pulling what I did. The A8 is now a fraction of inch from the screws, which should lessen the magnetic pull on the side closest to the bridge.
    Overall, I am primarily a PAF player, having ordered an overwound A4 set from the SD Custom Shop. I do love heavy music, though (Mastodon, Alice in Chains, Tool) and thought a JB might be a nice mod platform. I generally like the sound, it has a strong wind, and frankly is an affordable pickup to find used. It is so popular! Overall, I am hoping for a slighter broader EQ'ed JB with a bit less magnetic pull. I used the JB in the past I appreciate a higher output pickup for the range of output you can get from it. It is hard to turn a volume knob above '10,' but can easily control a high output pickup for that half power sound. I also saw & heard lots of the work Rob Timmons is doing over at Arcane, and it inspired the idea of an A8. The pickup will go into a Les Paul with quick connect plugs so I can easily swap from the A4 PAF to the J8 (what I am calling it!) for different palettes.

Originally posted by TheCanadianNews View Post