banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Custom Custom help: How do you like it best?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Custom Custom help: How do you like it best?

Hey everyone. I just got a custom custom and it sounds good but I'll admit it's different from my other SD pickups.

I have it in the bridge of a Strat copy so it's a trembucker. In the neck I have a Alnico ii which sings so I know it's not the guitar. Also, I've been playing the alnico ii in the neck for over ten years so I know how to make it sing both from a gear perspective and also guitar perspective.

The closet pick up that I've had to the CC is a 78 SD in the bridge of a LP copy I own which sounds great. I also own a Lil 78 in a Strat which is my favorite pickup of all time. My question is, how do you like to use the CC best? Gear wise and also maybe guitar wise? Years ago I played a CC my friend owned through his gear and it rocked! So I'm trying to determine if I wired it wrong or something else I'm not thinking about. It sounds good and I just started playing it so keep that in mind that perhaps I need to figure it out (when I got the lil 78 I was on the fence and today it's my go to).

I love EVHs (Van Halen) live without a net tour tone and I think I read somewhere that he used a CC so that's why I got it. I'd love for any suggestions. Thank you.

- A guy that's maybe over thinking it

Well...I put mine in the bridge of a Les Paul at first.

How did I use it? Cranked for some gnarly slide tones - fat singing leads a crunchy rhythm tones.

These days it is in a Dean Super Strat with a Floyd. I use it for a great all-around rock pickup.
    Originally posted by Bad City
    He's got the crowd on his side and the blue jean lights in his eyes...

Comment

CC isn't as bright as a 78. Raise the screws and lower the pickup. Then see what you think.

Sent from my SM-A115A using Tapatalk

Comment