Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pickups for Gibson Les Paul Std. from 1981

Hi to everyone!!!

First of all, thank you for being here with all of you and being able to learn from your knowledge. I never thought that choosing pickups would be such a confusing and head breaking task...

I will tell you my case: I have a Gibson Les Paul Standard from 1981 which I absolutely love, it has the 498T and 490R pickups which I really like (I don't understand why they get so much hate in some places), but unfortunately one of the mics of the 498T is failing and my tech tells me it's better to invest in another pickup than try to fix this one…

This is why I have decided to try Seymour Duncan pickups since I have been hearing wonderful things about them for many years but I have never been able to try them in person. I have decided that I am going to invest in the complete set (bridge and neck) and apart from the brand and model of guitar that I play, I use this gear in two different bands:

-In one of the bands I play with a Marshall JCM800 and a Marshall cabinet too, I use a Maxon OD808 to boost the amplifier, the style we play is Punk Rock very much in the style of Sex Pistols, The Damned, UK Subs, Cockney Rejects... etc and well, I know that in this specific musical style almost any SD pickup will be great for me.

-With the other band I play with a Peavey 5150 head and a Mesa Boogie 4x12 Rectifier Oversized cab, I don't use any Boost pedal. With this band we play a Hardcore/Crossover very much in the style of bands like Suicidal Tendencies, S.O.D, DRI, Agnostic Front...etc

What I try to look for, is a pickup set that performs well in both fields. I want to clarify that I am not looking for Active or ceramic pickups, rather I am looking for medium output pickups with good dynamics, articulation and definition, and get the amount of gain from the amplifier itself.