Piezo pickups?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Piezo pickups?

Hey guys, can anyone give me some information on how these work? I know nothing about them, other than the fact that they make an electric sound like an acoustic. I'm thinking of putting together a Strat from parts on Ebay, and I'm thinking of putting in a piezo pickup if it's not too expensive or difficult. I know Pete Townshend has one on the Strats he uses, can anyone recommend a particular model? Does Duncan make anything like this? As far as installation goes, I have plenty of wiring experience, so that's not a problem. Would a piezo require any major modifications to the guitar, and would it sound okay played through the amp's clean channel? I remember reading something about people using them through a PA system. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Ryan
    Originally posted by JOLLY
    I'm the reason we had to sign waivers

Re: Piezo pickups?

Originally posted by rspst14
    Hey guys, can anyone give me some information on how these work? I know nothing about them, other than the fact that they make an electric sound like an acoustic. I'm thinking of putting together a Strat from parts on Ebay, and I'm thinking of putting in a piezo pickup if it's not too expensive or difficult. I know Pete Townshend has one on the Strats he uses, can anyone recommend a particular model? Does Duncan make anything like this? As far as installation goes, I have plenty of wiring experience, so that's not a problem. Would a piezo require any major modifications to the guitar, and would it sound okay played through the amp's clean channel? I remember reading something about people using them through a PA system. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Ryan
    Here's the 'cover my @ss bit' - I've never tried them, so all this is based on stuff I've heard or read somewhere....