banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Shure SM57 Mic Won't Pick Up Any Sound! Please HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shure SM57 Mic Won't Pick Up Any Sound! Please HELP!

Hi guys, I picked up an Shure SM57 and I'm new to recording. The mic isn't picking up signal and I was hoping anyone with experience or knowledge could help me get it working.

Signal: [amp -> SM57 mic -> cable (XLR to guitar cable) -> guitar interface (Behringer UCG102) -> garageband]

My Garageband input setting is the guitar interface and my output is my computer's output. I played my amp loud and the SM57 wouldn't pick up noise when I was recording, but however, if I tapped on the mic i got a super small signal.

I've tried messing the the input volume on the guitar interface and it still won't give me any signal.

Anyone that can help it would be extremely appreciated! (sorry ik this isn't really related to an amp forum but I figured you guys would be able to help)

Thanks

Shure SM57 Mic Won't Pick Up Any Sound! Please HELP!

Hi guys, I picked up an Shure SM57 and I'm new to recording. The mic isn't picking up signal and I was hoping anyone with experience or knowledge could help me get it working.

Signal: [amp -> SM57 mic -> cable (XLR to guitar cable) -> guitar interface (Behringer UCG102) -> garageband]

My Garageband input setting is the guitar interface and my output is my computer's output. I played my amp loud and the SM57 wouldn't pick up noise when I was recording, but however, if I tapped on the mic i got a super small signal.

I've tried messing the the input volume on the guitar interface and it still won't give me any signal.

Anyone that can help it would be extremely appreciated! (Is this a common thing people deal with? how do I fix this issue?)

Thanks

Comment

Re: Shure SM57 Mic Won't Pick Up Any Sound! Please HELP!

SM57s are built like brick ****houses. If anything, I'd bet the problem doesn't lie with the mic.