This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Well ~ Lucky #13. Cavefish spills all

Right then. Somehow I got myself wrapped into this since Zerb was attacked by zombies and otherwise fell off the planet…

Gnarly.

A quick intro & background check… I’ve been playing guitar for geez, about 20 years now? Covered everything from big-band jazz to thrash metal but I love ‘rock’ and roots rock. There's currently 14 or so planks and 6 or 7 amps in the arsenal; ’73 strat & EJ; Lesters; Teles; Hamer superstrat with a Floyd; 5-string Melody Maker; modded JCM800; ’61 blonde Bandmaster head; an AC30 w/BlueBacks… almost three dozen pedals…

Then there’s the production thing. Recording. If I wasn’t doing that I’d probably be swinging a hammer or flipping burgers somewhere. I got into it full-time when I was 18… totally hooked. I dropped out of college and was interning at a studio that had/was hosting sessions with cats like Henry Rollins & White Zombie and even Luther Vandross, but that last one kinda sucked. I also learned a LOT from the producers who came through like Joe Baressi who’s since made records with Tool, Queens of the Stone Age & the Melvins… and Andy Wallace who’s mixed just about everything from Rage & Nirvana, System of a Down etc. There have also been a ton of hours logged in the brutal world of live production… mixing monitors for Living Colour, getting drunk with Dickey Betts & mixing a million bands that you've never heard of… good times.

I owned a commercial studio in East Rutherford NJ (9 miles from NYC) for several years and closed up shop in 2004 to "reset" myself after years of wedding band demos & even hosting informercials took their toll. These days I have a small mix room and do production work for original artists (mostly independent) & book studios for the big noise but have also been known to move a full-rig with $15,000 of microphones into a guest house.