banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Audio Taper vs. Linear Taper (whats what) and Cap Questions...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Audio Taper vs. Linear Taper (whats what) and Cap Questions...

Is one better then the other? Is one more appropriate for volume and another for tone? I have heard before that there is a difference in usable range for one compared to the other, is this true?

Looking to replace the pots in my new Carvin CS4 with CTS 500k pots... Want to make sure this is the right call, will this make any changes to tone or just usability of the pots?

Also, IRT to Caps, I have little to no knowledge in this arena... How do caps affect tone, how significant is that affect and what would be the right cap to achieve a PAF sound in my Carvin CS4...

Thanks for the knowledge sharing guys, as always it is much appreciated...

-J
    "This is my hat now, this is totally my hat..."

Re: Audio Taper vs. Linear Taper (whats what) and Cap Questions...

there is no difference in tone, only in the taper. at 10 both will be 100%, at 0 they will both be 0%. at 5 the linear will be at 50% and the audio will be less than that maybe 25% or so, i cant remember exactly, but audio rolls off faster. i used to prefer audio but ive been happier with linear recently. one isnt better than the other really, only what works better for you.

for caps .02 (or .022) and .047 (or .05) are the most common for guitars. they change what frequency is rolled off when using the tone control. a higher value cap will give you a darker sound with less treble than a smaller value cap when the tone is at 0.

a paf sound is easy in your carvin, a paf in a les paul sound from your carvin is gonna be much harder. old les pauls used .047 caps if i remember correctly

Comment