how different straps change my tone.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how different straps change my tone.

I've been playing for 10 years and I own top notch expensive equipment. I've got a cocktail of NOS tubes in my custom vintage all tube Fender Tri-ReverbDSP amp therefore my tone is quite unique. I play with occasional/weekend lawyer players and I'm better than all of them. Nobody plays the blues like me. I always get good comments about my tone although the comments only comes from my bandmates because we've never played live.
    But let me talk about something I've discovered lately which has more impact in the tone than wood or pickups. What I've noticed how different straps change my tone. Nylon straps produce a lifeless kinda sterile tone. Too compressed and too flat sounding. Call it active strap sound if you want. Strap made of cotton in the other hand brings all the SRV warm bluesy tone and it clean up so nice when you roll off the volume. But leather strap is another story... it popups all the upper harmonics and my licks sound much more live. Metal riffs sound heavier and you can get screaming harmonics all over the place.
    What I will experiment next is, how the strap length affects the tone. Once I find out that I will make custom straps for all my guitars.
    Last edited by crguti; 07-30-2016, 04:32 PM.

Re: how different straps change my tone.

With leather straps it is important to measure the tonal effects of studding. You can't do teh brootalz without proper studding! And BTW, suede will give you that '70s classic crunch.

For true vintage tone you need to use a camera strap.
    Originally posted by DreX
    Nearly everyone still in this thread should have me on ignore by now. The fact that they don't says everything.
    The only reason anyone describes me as combative is because I don't agree with them and allow them have the last word. Well... too bad.
    There's no substance to anything I have posted.