Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp suggestions??

Hi guys!

I'm pretty knew to the forum here. I've been looking for a new amp as I started playing a few months ago and I've decided it's time to step up from the tiny fender 15g practice amp I have. I've been going back and forth between the fender champion 100 2x12 or the fender mustang IV. I've read a ton of reviews but I really want some input. Which of those would be a better bet? Is there something around that price range that would suit me better? Also I am in need of a guitsr upgrade as well but from what I understand an amp takes priority over that. I'm currently playing a fender squire strat with the stock humbucker in the bridge position.

I play a lot of pop punk/metal core style music and I've just started playing rhythm in a band.

It may not matter but I do have musical and guitar experience! I'm just new to electric!

Re: Amp suggestions??

In my opinion, you'd do best to hold out and save up enough to buy a nice tube amp. Neither of those amps you mentioned will get you where you need for what you play, and if you scour the used market, you can find some great amps from not a lot of money.

Comment

It looked like the Mustang amps were about $500. I would go with a Jet City 50 watt head and the best cabinet that you can afford, used stuff on craigslist may be your best bet there. That will give you as much amp as you will ever need and you can always add a better cabinet or speakers later.

Comment

I'd go with the Mustang IV in your situation. Even if you soon begin to play in a band, it will carry you through. If later you get very serious, or have the cash to spare, then search out a quality tube amp that will do what's needed at that time.

Tube snobs will disagree with this, but it is the practical thing to do (spoken by one who has a preference for my tube amps).

Comment

I'd also check out,
          -Vox vt80+ or vt120+
          -Bugera V55
          -Peavey Valve King