TUBE AMP HELP!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TUBE AMP HELP!!!

I am new to tube amps, I just bought a small 20w all tube head and a Marshall 1x10 microcab, the amp was new but the cab was second hand and I cant get it to work. I plugged the head into the cab and plugged the power chord in, the head turns on and the lights come on and it changes channels and everything but no sound will come out of the cab. When I turn the head on, the speaker does make a noise like it turning on but it will not work, I read that its an 8ohm cab so I tried the 8 ohm output on the head but that didn't work so I tried the 16 and 4 ohm outputs and they didnt work either. also I'm new with tubes so this is probably a stupid question but the EL84's illuminate (which im pretty sure they're supposed to) but they also get hot and make the top of the head hot (its a metal casing), is that normal?

Re: TUBE AMP HELP!!!

Yes, tubes getting warm and lighting up is normal.

This may be a silly question, but you didn't mention it specifically: are you taking the amp off Standby after you've powered it up? (And also, because I know I've done it, the volume on the guitar is up too [emoji1]?)

If so, then the next test is to take the output of a music source (iPod, stereo, etc) to a quarter-inch jack and put it direct into the speaker cab - if it's working, you'll hear the music (don't worry about HOW it sounds, just whether you can hear it or not).

If you can't hear it, then you'll need to check the wiring to the speaker and/or the condition of the speaker itself.