banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First post ever down here in the Bassment...got my first bass.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post ever down here in the Bassment...got my first bass.

Had to give my buddies bass back that I borrowed for recording. So yesterday I jumped on CL and saw this. Candy apple red Squier J Bass. I know it’s probably the cheapest of cheaps, but it should serve me well. I have no knowledge of bass pickups and whatnots as to bass mods, but I may do something. Hell, I haven’t even plugged this thing in yet....I could sound AMAZBALLZ, but I doubt it.

Im sure I’ll venture back down these creaky stairs often to ask questions.

Click image for larger version

Name:	CB670BE3-3FDF-406F-A0A2-CE08BCEA5395.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	5847651

Re: First post ever down here in the Bassment...got my first bass.

I bought a MIM Jazz Bass a few years ago and I have nothing at all to complain about. It plays great and sounds great for the $250 I paid.
    My opinion only but I thought it sounded better than a friends American P bass.

Comment

Congrats! Nothing wrong with a Squier bass to get you going (looks like an affinity?).
      TOUQUE ROCK...EH???? I AM CANADIAN

Comment

Yes, it’s an Affinty.

Comment

Nice. My MIJ Squier Jazz has served me well for many years. If you're going to upgrade the pickups I'd recommend either SD QPs (which I have in my Squier) or DiM Model Js, which I have in my MIM Fender jazz.
          '69 Fender Mustang bass
          '69 Gibson EB-1
          '76 Rickenbacker 4001 w/SD for Rick N & B
          '76 Fender Precision w/Dimarzio Model P
          '84 MIJ Fender Jazz Bass Special w/SD Hot for P neck & Dimarzio Model J for bridge [BEAD tuning]
          '99 Fretless MIJ Fender Precision/'87 MIJ Fender Squier Jazz hybrid w/SD QP for Jazz
          '12 MIM Fender Jazz w/Dimarzio Model J
          '14 Fretless Warmoth Custom T w/ SDCS Stack for SCPB N & B

Comment