Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

  1. #1
    Darkness on the edge of Tone TwilightOdyssey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    10
    Posts
    12,684

    Default strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Definitely late to the party, but this looks great.

    Last edited by TwilightOdyssey; 10-25-2019 at 05:45 AM.
    Why don't you take your little Cobra Kais and get outta here?!
    My collaborative PROGRESSIVE ROCK PROJECT, As Follows.
    FACEBOOK page for As Follows.

  2. #2
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    22,890

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    I saw this yesterday. This sounds like a great pedal, and am surprised it took this long for a company to come out with this. It should have at least XLR out, though.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  3. #3
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Rex_Rocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1,902

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Seems very limited to say the least.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Blille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,091

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mincer View Post
    It should have at least XLR out, though.
    A friend and I were just discussing this. My guess was that Strymon is so committed to stereo with their line of pedals that they had to go stereo in and out even if it meant giving up on the obvious (and IMHO better) XLR out.

  5. #5
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    22,890

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by Blille View Post
    A friend and I were just discussing this. My guess was that Strymon is so committed to stereo with their line of pedals that they had to go stereo in and out even if it meant giving up on the obvious (and IMHO better) XLR out.
    Well for some PA systems, you'd need either 2 direct boxes, or 2 odd cords, or a rare stereo direct box. I think the 'direct to a PA' thing was an afterthought. Listening to it, the Fly Rig, while it doesn't have as many amp sounds, sounds a whole lot better. So does the Amplifire-box, which has an XLR out.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  6. #6
    Mojo's Minions LLL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Evil Volcano Lair
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,457

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Love Strymon, but the Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B. M is better IMO, and includes an XLR out and microSD card (which you can replace with a bigger one if needed).

    Also can load your own 3rd party iRs (Ownhammer, etc).

    Also has an app for the iPhone (maybe android, I have iPhone); connects via Bluetooth.

    I posted about this last June (got one in July) - it kicks major ass.

    https://forum.seymourduncan.com/show...Everyone-Needs

    Last edited by LLL; 10-25-2019 at 07:39 PM.
    Lefty Lounge Lizard's Guitars & Amps Extravaganza



    Fastest ears in the West

    Quote Originally Posted by Edgecrusher View Post
    I thought it sounded great, until I heard something that sounded good.
    Guitaramped.com

  7. #7
    Super Toneologist IMENATOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Mexico D.F.
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mincer View Post
    I saw this yesterday. This sounds like a great pedal, and am surprised it took this long for a company to come out with this. It should have at least XLR out, though.
    I think they want us to be able to use it in stereo things like their time line, big sky, etc. while keeping it in their existing form factor. But ain't those balanced outputs that can go into the mixer too?
    Who took my guitar?

  8. #8
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    22,890

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by IMENATOR View Post
    I think they want us to be able to use it in stereo things like their time line, big sky, etc. while keeping it in their existing form factor. But ain't those balanced outputs that can go into the mixer too?
    My guess is that they are balanced....but most sound people want xlrs, so you will have to get a balanced 1/4" to xlr or use a direct box. It has happened to me many times at festivals- they want something quick and easy to set up, so you hand them an xlr cable and they are happy.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Blille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,091

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    They are unbalanced buffered outputs.

  10. #10
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    22,890

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by Blille View Post
    They are unbalanced buffered outputs.
    Yeah, that makes this not useful to me. I use a FlyRig and other Tech 21 amps (oh and a Fractal) so I'd have no need for this.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Tone Slacker Blille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,091

    Default Re: strymon Iridium new mic/cab emulator on the block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mincer View Post
    Yeah, that makes this not useful to me. I use a FlyRig and other Tech 21 amps (oh and a Fractal) so I'd have no need for this.
    Yup. I hear you.
    It feels like a real miss.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •