Series/Parallel/Split Wiring Diagram

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Series/Parallel/Split Wiring Diagram

I'm new to doing my own electronic work. As such, I apologize for the noob questions.

I have a 2 humbucker guitar with a single volume, tone, and a three way toggle. I want to add two on/on/on mini toggles to achieve series/parallel/split wiring for each humbucker. Using the diagram below, do I simply wire both pickups exactly the same? What about grounding? Don't I need to run a ground wire from the mini toggle to the bottom of the volume pot? Also, how about wiring to the pickup selector. Maybe I missed it but I didn't see another diagram that more closely matches my guitar. Is there anything I'm missing?

A little confused because this is in an official Duncan article, but appears to be the reverse image of the diagram above. Which diagram is correct?

Here's one I found in a YouTube video linked in the Duncan article mentioned above. Is this correct, and should I follow this wiring?

Also, this is from guitar electronics. It appears to split the pickups to the screws vs slugs. Any benefit to that? Possible a bit more Tele, and the slugs might be a bit more Strat?

Which diagram do you recommend I follow? Thanks for the insight!
    Last edited by cactus jack; 11-12-2019, 12:03 AM.

Series/Parallel/Split Wiring Diagram

The first Duncan diagram is missing a ground wire from the switch to either the back of the volume or even the jack directly.

The second diagram splits to the screw coil, if I’m reading correctly.

The third diagram reverses where the pickups wires are attached but functions identical to the first Duncan drawing, when the Duncan drawing is corrected for ground connections.

The last drawing, by spitting to opposite coils, I believe keeps it hum-cancelling when both pickups are split and on together.