Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How often to get an amp's tubes rebiased

Good day,

I heard that it is a good idea to get an amp re-biased every 3 to 4 months for 2 hours of use per day or so, but I am new to tube amps and I use mine less than that.

Just a rule of thumb, I play my amp prolly around 8 to 10 or so hours per week, I'm still new to tube amps so how often should I have a tech re-bias it?

I'm asking because I heard it was good to get an amp re-biased every 3 to 4 months with playing about 2 hours a day, but I don't play quite that much. I play for Church, typically 4 hours on Sunday and 2 hours on rehearsal day. Beyond that, I'll play about 2 to 4 hours outside that for practice.

For reference, I have a Blackstar HT5R MkII.

My current plan was about every 6 months, is this a good "schedule"?

Thanks,
    GreatOz

Re: How often to get an amp's tubes rebiased

I would only do it when you put in a new set of tubes.

Sent from my Alcatel_5044C using Tapatalk

Comment

For that amp, never, it doesn't have a bias adjustment.

For amps that need rebiasing, I usually only re-biased when I put in new tubes unless I wanted to try running them a little hotter, which will go through tubes faster.

Comment

Originally posted by devastone View Post
        For that amp, never, it doesn't have a bias adjustment.
        I’m also seeing online that it’s cathode biased; you can just swap tubes without adjustment. Might want to verify with Blackstar, but pretty sure this is the case.

Comment

HT-5 is cathode biased so the tubes for that amplifier are plug & play, also Blackstar amps run very cool in any case?

For you essentially any EL84’s will run fine in it so long as they are matched to some degree .....