X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rolling A Bound Neck

Can you roll the bound fretboard edges?
    I have rolled the unbound fretboards in my collection

Is it possible to roll bound ones as well?

I had always thought of those as just the way they are
    EHD
    Just here surfing Guitar Pron
    RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
    SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
    Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
    Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
    Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
    Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
    GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

Re: Rolling A Bound Neck

Sure, just use a razor and go slow.

Roman shows ya

-Chris

Originally posted by John Suhr
    “Practice cures most tone issues”

Comment

Another one

I use a thinner razor and just drag it up and down the whole neck. Light pressure and the razor passes over the frets.
      -Chris

Comment

I had an SG that someone sanded down the binding so that it was super thin at the fretboard. That neck felt wonderful.

Comment

I've never rolled fretboard edges with the frets in before. :P

The razor blade method looks like the way to go to do this.
          Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
          This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Originally posted by GuitarStv View Post
            I've never rolled fretboard edges with the frets in before. :P

The razor blade method looks like the way to go to do this.