Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vibrato tips

Hi all!

I've been playing for about 11 years and only recently have I started to notice the importance and power of a strong vibrato (I know, it's about time). With that, I came to notice how weak mine is!

Does anyone have any tips or decent exercises for building a strong and uniform vibrato? This goes for both slow and wide ones and for the more butterfly type. Also for bending + vibrato which seems to be extremely hard for me although other players seem to do this effortlessly.

Right now I'm literally just starting with a metronome and shaking the string really slowly and slowly building up my speed. It helps and it builds a good slow and wide vibrato, however my butterfly vibrato has not changed, still weak and inconsistent.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions, tips and replies in general!

Re: Vibrato tips

Sounds like you’re doing the right thing.

Comment

Too many guitarists go into 'vibrato autopilot' and end up vibratoing every note that they sustain for more than a second. Pick and choose when to use your vibrato and it has a lot more emotional impact. Also, don't just start vibratoing right away when a note is played . . . let the note ring out for a bit and ramp up your vibrato at the end, this gives a much more vocal sound.

Not that I'm particularly good at either, but these are things I've been trying to remind myself lately. :P
      Join me in the fight against muscular atrophy!

Originally posted by Douglas Adams
      This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

Comment

Originally posted by GuitarStv View Post