banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Humbucker signal problem - can you tell me the solution?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Humbucker signal problem - can you tell me the solution?

Hi guys! My friend has a white Hot P-Rails bridge humbucker (SHPR-2B) that doesn't give signal in humbucker mode. The weird thing is that both coils work separately but when wired as a standard humbucker (black hot lead, green+bare to ground) it's completely mute, no signal whatsoever. I've validated this with multimeter and opened up the pickup to see that all wires are connecter where they're supposed to. Pickup hasn't been opened before this and lived a long life in my friends other guitar.

It would be much appreciated if you can help me to overcome this issue. I'm pretty new to pickup repairing but have done other guitar repairs and maintenance for about 6 years. I'm mostly self-taught.

Thanks a lot!

Re: Humbucker signal problem - can you tell me the solution?

Are you getting a reading in full mode? This could be a connection between the coils that has broken, but I'd be curious what reading you get on full.
    Administrator of the SDUGF

Comment

Originally posted by Mincer View Post
      Are you getting a reading in full mode? This could be a connection between the coils that has broken, but I'd be curious what reading you get on full.
      Thanks for the fast reply Mincer! The pickup doesn't give any readings in humbucking mode. However, the both coils give reading separately.

Comment

if both coils work separately, then they should work together if wired correctly. you do have the red and white wires soldered together, right? the black and white wires are the for one coil, the green and red for the other

Comment

Originally posted by jeremy View Post