Fretless fingerboard leveling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fretless fingerboard leveling

My bass is a 21 year old Warwick Corvette. Ebony board, ovangkol bolt-on neck.

I would like to try cleaning up the fingerboard a little. It was very difficult to photograph the wear, but you can feel it at places under the E & A strings. The D & G show wear, but it's not as much.

Currently, the neck has very little relief, the nut is adjusted just high enough for open strings to not buzz, and the action is a little over 1.5mm on the G, a little over 2mm on the E. Roundwound SIT Foundations 45-105 strings, standard tuning.

I'm still very new to the bass world in general, and especially to fretless. On a guitar, I like higher action, but since there's no bending on a fretless bass, I'd like to be able to get it as low as humanly possible. Inherently, since there are no frets, there is going to be a little noise from the string vibrating against the board (bassists call this 'mwah'). My D & G play very cleanly, but there is some buzz on the A & E.

Looking for advice on how to address this myself. Most are saying take it to a luthier, but since I love round wound strings, this will need to be done again in the future, so I'd like to learn to do it myself.
    “I can play the hell out of a riff. The rest of it’s all bulls**t anyway,” Gary Holt

Re: Fretless fingerboard leveling

Click image for larger version

Name:	A5BBEC29-FC45-4F6C-9867-39FB9C9891A3.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	84.5 KB
ID:	5818182

Name:	AEF891EC-4991-44C2-A8B1-0E7DC79D1F21.jpeg
Size:	89.2 KB
ID:	5818183

Name:	4A1830F2-426F-4B1E-964D-4BEBB1CF85A0.jpeg
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	5818184
    “I can play the hell out of a riff. The rest of it’s all bulls**t anyway,” Gary Holt

Comment

Name:	3D0C9B3D-11D2-430F-AB27-16967599AD8E.jpeg
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	5818185

Name:	DE2AED30-7241-442E-9544-4E08F62F4073.jpeg
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	5818186

Comment