Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

  1. #1
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    How is this pedal to use?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	831875FC-9359-4AC5-A615-5D517D142618.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	41.8 KB 
ID:	103735
    Last edited by TMD; 03-12-2020 at 05:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    26,040

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    Pretty easy, as it does a lot of the quantizing to internal beats for you. Not a bad pedal if you have a set of chord progressions you like to practice soloing over. If you use loops in a more advanced or abstract way, you will need something else.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  3. #3
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,655

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    It only quantizes if you have the beats feature engaged. (you can also just use the hi-hat chirps as a better click-track)
    If the beats are not engaged it's just a standard looper. (no time correcting)
    You can set the command order however you like,,,,,,,takes about 5 seconds.
    With remote switches it can get more live performance friendly,,,,, if that's what one was using it for.
    Last edited by dave74; 03-13-2020 at 01:06 AM.

  4. #4
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    26,040

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    Right, if you don't have the rhytms on, it works like a basic looper (like the Ditto or something like that). It really depends on how you like to use loops, and if you use them live, what you are going for.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    What if you don’t know how you want to use loops?

  6. #6
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    26,040

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    I think you should start thinking about how you want to use them. Research is free. So, is it for practice? Do you need loop storage? Do you need drum beats? Questions like these are the things you should answer before spending money.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    Yes, yes, and yes. I bought a Boss RC-30. I thought the loops sounded really good.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4726D19A-94C0-49E5-A56B-8619B4B1CC27.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	103.3 KB 
ID:	103764

  8. #8
    Administrator Mincer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay area, Florida, USA
    Posts
    26,040

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    Those are fun pedals. I think they allow for an external switch so you don't have to double press to stop, which is hard when timing is important.
    Dave, Ambassador/Writer/Artist for Seymour Duncan

    My Guitar, Gear, and Music Webpage

    Gear pics and more on my Instagram.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    There’s certainly a lot to remember with double-tapping and pressing and holding switches and buttons. In order to use it, I’m going to need to load the entire manual into RAM. I’m glad I got one with more and bigger buttons, to cut down on the double duty.

  10. #10
    Chris JB_From_Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Yellow Springs, Ohio
    Age
    41
    Posts
    19,527

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    I recently bought an RC-20XL. Mincer is a wealth of good advice on loopers, and he convinced me to go beyond the single pedal devices.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    How do you like yours?

  12. #12
    Mojo's Minions dave74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Illi-ana line road, USA
    Posts
    3,655

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    The RC-3 doesn't ever need double-tapped if you just change the switching order and then get the little remote switch for a kill/tap-tempo.
    You do still have to hold down to clear the loop preset, but you can do that with the remote.
    The tap-tempo to set the beat speed just feels better on the remote anyways.
    Get two remotes or a single fs-6 and you can foot-scroll presets.
    Last edited by dave74; 03-15-2020 at 01:31 PM.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Tone Slacker TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Extolling the virtues of shower radios.
    Posts
    1,507

    Default Re: Boss RC-3 Loop Station

    I had an FS-6 sitting around. It’s definitely a plus for the RC-30.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •