banner

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does Reverse Headstock make the the string trees unnecessary?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does Reverse Headstock make the the string trees unnecessary?

as in the thread title
    does it make a difference with string trees

I like the inline tuners
    but not so much the trees

I know I could use staggered tuners
    or a tilt back headstock (like my Ibanez)

can I simply reverse the headstock and achieve the same thing?
    EHD
    Just here surfing Guitar Pron
    RG2EX1 w/ SD hot-rodded pickups / RG4EXFM1 w/ Carvin S22j/b + FVN middle
    SR500 / Martin 000CE-1/Epiphone Hummingbird
    Epiphone Florentine with OEM Probuckers
    Ehdwuld branded Blue semi hollow custom with JB/Jazz
    Reptile Green Gibson Custom Studio / Aqua Dean Shire semi hollow with piezo
    Carvin Belair / Laney GC80A Acoustic Amp (a gift from Guitar Player Mag)
    GNX3000 (yea I'm a modeler)

Re: Does Reverse Headstock make the the string trees unnecessary?

No, still need them for the longer strings. With a reverse headstock the low strings are at a very low break angle. (Assuming Fender style headstock)
    Oh no.....

Oh Yeah!

Comment

The trees are all about downward angle over the nut. Unless reversing the headstock suddenly reverses the effect of reality or physics, you are still going to have some strings where the back angle over the nut is quite shallow.
      These strings will now be the thicker ones, where you often hit hard for chords.

Comment

And reverse headstocks are a pain in the @$$ when changing strings and when tuning. Look cool though...
        “The hell with the rules. If it sounds right, then it is.” - Edward Van Halen

Comment

Well so much for that

What about 3x3 on a non tilted headstock?
          The long strings would be half as long and centered
          EHD

Comment

Nope!

Comment

Staggered tuners may be an option - someone must make a lefty version.